2020 Miami Beach Commission Committees Named

Susan Askew
Susan Askew

2020 Miami Beach Commission Committees Named:

Move from four to three committees reflects "holistic approach"

Following the November elections, Miami Beach Mayor Dan Gelber took some time to reflect on the City Commission’s Committee structure before making appointments.

Out is the separate Sustainability and Resiliency Committee, its functions now spread across the remaining three committees in a move to create a structure that is “a little more holistic” and streamlined, Gelber told Commissioners at their meeting last month.

With some input on names, the Commission approved Gelber’s recommendations for the committees. 

This week, he announced his appointments:

Finance and Economic Resiliency Committee (FERC)
Ricky Arriola, Chair
David Richardson, Vice-Chair
Mark Samuelian, Member
Steven Meiner, Alternate

Land Use and Sustainability Committee
Mark Samuelian, Chair
Michael Góngora, Vice Chair
Ricky Arriola, Member
Micky Steinberg, Alternate

Neighborhood and Quality of Life Committee
Micky Steinberg, Chair
Steven Meiner, Vice-Chair
Michael Góngora, Member
David Richardson, Alternate

Miami Beach Looks to Increase Class A Office Space Inventory

Susan Askew
Susan Askew
Targets include the financial services industry

Legislation Moves Forward to Reverse Miami Beach Zoning Board Decision Overturning 48 Years of Precedent

Susan Askew
Susan Askew
Zoning in progress now in effect, broader discussion coming